Dharmendra to be honoured with Raj Kapoor Lifetime Achievement Award

16th April 2018

Veteran actor Dharmendra is all set to get felicitated with the honourable Raj Kapoor Lifetime Achievement award. Maharashtra Culture Minister Vinod Tawde announced that the 'Yamla Pagla Deewana' actor will be awarded the prestigious honour.

Besides Dharmendra, the '3 Idiots' and 'Munna Bhai' fame director Rajkumar Hirani is also honoured with Raj Kapoor Special Contributions Awards. The award winner bag a cash reward of Rs 5,00,000 and Rs. 3,00,000.

Vinod Tawde, Maharashtra's Culture Minister officially tweeted, "Delighted to announce veteran actor Dharmendraji as the recipient of Maharashtra State’s Raj Kapoor Lifetime Achievement Award and director Rajkumar Hirani on being selected for the Raj Kapoor Special Contributions Award. Congratulations!" 

Dharmendra will be honoured with the award at the 55th Maharashtra State Marathi Film Festival.

The 82-year old actor has contributed his acting prowess in hit films like 'Sholay', 'Yaadon Ki Baaraat', 'Seeta Aur Geeta', 'Chupke Chupke', 'Naya Zamana', 'Dream Girl' to name a few. The veteran actor is gearing for 'Yamla Pagla Deewana Phir Se', third instalment in the comedy franchise. The film stars his sons, Sunny Deol and Bobby Deol.

The Culture minister also announced the rest of the award winners with his tweet that reads, "Congratulations to veteran actor Vijay Chavhan and actress-director Mrinal Kulkarni on being announced as the recipients of the prestigious Chitrapati V Shantaram Jivangaurav Puraskar and Chitrapati V Shantaram Vishesh Yogdaan Puraskar respectively."

We congratulate Dharmendra for winning this prestigious award.

Tags: Dharmendra,