6 prominent B-Town figures invited to be members of Oscars Academy

3rd July 2019

This is a great moment of celebration and pride for India as 6 prominent figures of the Bollywood industry are invited to be a member of Oscars Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences which definitely is an achievement making the whole nation proud. 

Few of the most celebrated filmmakers of Bollywood, Zoya Akhtar, Anurag Kashyap, Ritesh Batra and veteran actor Anupam Kher are fresh members to join this committee. 

While Zoya is invited in director's category, Kashyap is invited in Short Films and Feature Animation category. Writer-Director Ritesh Batra, who is known for the movie 'The Lunchbox' is also on the list. 

Also joining the list are Sherry Bharda of 'Hichki' and Srinivas Mohan popular for '2.0' and Baahubali: The Beginning' for Visual Effect Department.

While this year the award committee has invited 842 new members, 2018 saw 928 new members. B-Town celebs Shah Rukh Khan, Tabu, Madhuri Dixit and Naseeruddin Shah were invited in 2018 for this prestigious award night.